The Job Exchange

Tapping Into The Hidden Job Market

20 Things That Happened to Me On My Way to the Perfect Job

From the author:

I wrote this article about 7 years ago. I was looking for a job and I finally found one,  but in light of the record unemployment level maybe it can inspire someone who is looking for the perfect job or in 2009 a job!

Looking for a job these days is an adventure. You never know what you will find or where you will find it. Conventional methods don’t work anymore; you have to be creative and tenacious. Because the job market is tougher than ever you must develop thick skin and not take rejection personally, which is easier said than done. To keep my sanity in this process I started writing down my experiences. My hope is that you will read them and be encouraged and in some cases amused. Here are 20 things that happened to me on my way to the perfect job.

One of our favorites:

6. THE HUMAN RESOURCE. At a local brokerage firm, I interviewed with a Human Resources representative. The following day I wrote her the requisite thank you email and asked her a question in that email. She did not respond. I sent her another email the following week; again, no response. I called and left her a voice mail…still, no response. At this point I knew I wasn’t being considered for the position but I was annoyed that my messages were being ignored. I sent one last email and made reference to the two previous emails and the voice mail. See my mistake was that I believed that the Human Resources Department was truly a resource to humans. I now know that is not the case. She finally responded and said she had been too busy to answer any of my inquiries. I was so sorry I bothered her.

We highly recommend this — it offers a much-needed break from job searching!

Read the article here. http://ebonymompolitics.wordpress.com/2009/04/02/pick-me-20-things-that-happened-to-me-on-my-way-to-the-perfect-job/

04/03/2009 - Posted by | interviewing |

2 Comments »

  1. I came across this article earlier this morning and couldn’t help but be jealous of all of the interviews.

    Comment by Ecommerce Job ... Where Are You? | 04/03/2009 | Reply

    • Yes, lots of activity!

      Comment by Bear | 04/03/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

